Matt Pharr 2Matt Pharr

Dr. Matt Pharr is an Assistant Professor in the Department of Mechanical Engineering at Texas A&M University (with a courtesy appointment in Materials Science & Engineering).  He did his Ph.D. with Zhigang Suo and Joost Vlassak at Harvard University and a postdoc with John Rogers at the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign. His research focuses on mechanics of materials, specifically materials for energy storage and conversion, deformation and fracture of soft materials, mechanics of stretchable electronics, mechanics of irradiated materials, coupled electro-chemo-mechanics, biomechanics of plants, and mass transport in materials.



Ph.D. Students

Omid Zargar (2018 – )

Omid received his BS in Mechanical Engineering at Isfahan University of Technology and MS in Mechanical Engineering at the University of Tehran. He joined Dr. Pharr’s group in Summer 2018. His current project involves computational and experimental studies to provide fundamental understanding of the biomechanics of plant stems.



Kamrul Hasan (2019 – )

Kamrul earned his Master’s in Mechanical Engineering from Hokkaido University, Japan, and BS in Mechanical Engineering from Chittagong University of Engineering & Technology (CUET), Bangladesh. Currently, he is working on the mechanical characterization of irradiated polymers. His research interests include experimental and computational solid mechanics of materials, fracture mechanics, polymers, composites and biomaterials.



Jungho Shin (2020 – )

Jungho was born and raised in Busan, Korea. He received his BS and MS in Mechanical Engineering at Korea University, where he studied nanomaterials synthesis and its electrochemical applications. He joined Dr. Pharr’s group in summer 2020. His current research interests are mechanical and electrical properties of secondary battery systems.



M.S. Students

Undergraduate Students

Saaransh Verma (2021 – )

Jessica Ganley (2021 – )

Karla Molina (2020 – )

Puneet Kohli (2020 – )

Chiedu Nwaobi (2020 – )

Raquel Muyshondt (2018 – )

High School Students

Bill Wang (2019)


Ph.D. Alumni

Yuwei Zhang (2021), Ph.D., “Chemo-Mechanics of Functional Thin Films for Lithium-ion Batteries and Neuromorphic Computing Devices.” 





Seunghyun Lee (2020), Ph.D., “Mechanical Behavior of a Silicone Elastomer, Elastomer Composites, and a Natural Composite.” 





M.S. Alumni

Cole Fincher (2020), M.S., “Small Scale Mechanical Behavior of Metal Electrodes.” 




Haley Turman (2019), M.S., “Investigation of the Effect of Annealing on Irradiated Alloy 718.” 




Garrett Hardin (2018), M.S., “Mechanics of electrodes in high-capacity lithium-ion batteries.” 






Undergraduate Alumni

Carl Reiser (2019 – 2020)

Edward Gaffney (2019 – 2020)

Michael Ecker-Randolph, REU student (2019)

Temitayo Odunuga, REU student (2019)

Luke Perkins (2019)

Kyriakos Avraam, visiting student from Cyprus (2019)

James Chin (2019)

Andrew Buske (2019)

Arjun Rao (2019)

Mark Olvera (2019)

Daniel Claybaugh (2018 – 2019)

Arber Shasivari (2018)

Edwin Torres (2018)

Maria Lydia Ioannides, visiting student from Cyprus (2018)

Daniela Ojeda, REU student (2018)

Russell Rowe, REU student (2018)

Jonah Noureddine (2018)

Paco Falcon (2018)

Kylie Nielson (2017 – 2018)

Aaron Garcia (2017 – 2018)

Justin Coe (2017 – 2018)

Scott McProuty (2017 – 2018)

Brenda Cancino (2017 – 2018)

Cole Fincher (2016 – 2017)

Geoffrey Garner (2016 – 2017)

Taiwo Odetola (2017)

Garrett Swenson, REU student (2017)

Valdemar Solis (2017)